Mohawk trilogy

Canadian folkways lean on immigrants’ and Indigenous’ stories. In Minsos’ Mohawk trilogy “the complexities of the era are thoroughly researched and accurately imparted, as evidenced by the detail in both the book and its lengthy introduction. These historical trials are never intrusive in the text; they are always incorporated in a relatable way.” Lillian Brown

Human nature – as illustrated in the European fairytale (the Snow Queen) and in the rough American myth (Deadwood) and in tales of the clever survivor (Skunny Wundy) – is at the core of the Mohawk Trilogy.

“I can give her no greater power than she has already,’ said the woman; ‘Don’t you see how strong that is? How men and animals are obliged to serve her, and how well she has got through the world, barefooted as she is. She cannot receive any power from me greater than she now has, which consists in her own purity and innocence of heart. If she cannot herself obtain access to the Snow Queen, and remove the glass fragments from little Kai, we can do nothing to help her.” the Finnish woman, in Hans Christian Andersen, Snedronningen (the Snow Queen)

P J Lynch, artist


“Pain or damage don’t end the world. Or despair or fucking beatings. The world ends when you’re dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man… and give some back.”  Ellis Albert (Al) Swearengen (Ian McShane) advising A. W. Merrick (Jeffrey Jones), Deadwood, created by David Milch

 Robin Weigert as Calamity Jane


“Meanwhile, Skunny Wundy was watching from he other side of the river. He had heard that any weapon touched by the saliva of a Stone Giant would have magical power and now he knew that it was true.  . . . For the rest of his life Skunny Wundy told anybody who would listen the story of his encounter with the Stone Giant, but nobody ever believed him.” Arthur Caswell Parker, Collected Stories of Skunny Wundy

John Kahionhes Fadden




Four seasons of the Carolinian forest, encompassing the Grand River of Ontario. The forest is home to kind hearts, stone giants, and tough folks, those “who give some back.” The Mohawk trilogy covers one year, starting in summer, 1845, and ending in spring, 1846. Anonymous reviewer, Friesen Press: The [Grand River] saga is a gripping piece of historical fiction that both entertains and provides readers with a real sense for the times. … Because this book ticks all the boxes for action, romance, a strong setting, interesting characters, and cultural insight, I have no doubt [it] will be greatly enjoyed by both lovers of historical sagas and those who may be new to the genre.

Wagner’s Lake, Uxbridge, Ontario




The Women Review: “Sky Walker Tehawennihárhos: Charter is a complex, action-filled novel about the 1840s in Canada West [formerly Upper Canada, now Ontario].  …”Leading us through the suspenseful plot, filled with humour and emotion, Minsos writes spare, clean prose. The late Mel Hurtig once said about her style, ‘Every word is right.’ In Minsos’ books we witness survival struggles, stereotypical biases and gender inequity. We follow the trail of shady land sharks and opportunistic religious scoundrels. Exposing documented thievery and tragic events of a place and time in our pre-Confederation history, the fabric of fiction is such that it allows us to glimpse into the heart of the indomitable human spirit.  … ‘We cannot undo the past. But we can shape our destiny. A history lesson, yes. But such a joy to read’.”